Reviews - The Glenorleigh

The glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay in a quiet location Kelly and john couldn\'t do enough for us. If we\'re down Torquay again will definatly book the glenorleigh again.

Reviewer:Robert Bradley | Thu 4th Aug 2016


Will be great when renovations are complete. - Rating 4/5

We stayed for five nights. John and Kelly were excellent hosts. Dining area and bar very comfortable. Lovely garden and pool area. Breakfast was excellent. Only one complaint our Room Dittisham was very dated and worn. Ensuite very small with a very noisy toilet cistern.We understand the rooms are in the process of being updated and it would have been great to have been offered a room change as one came up during our stay. We wish John and Kelly all the best for the future. for the future.

Reviewer:Michael Day | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


Great place :) - Rating 5/5

Staying at glenorleigh was a pleasure Kelly &John are really welcoming we enjoyed our stay thankyou 😊best wishes Julie Martin &lewis

Response

Thank you Julie, Martin and Lewis it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you all again sometime.Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Julie Garside | Sun 31st Jul 2016


lovely short stay - Rating 5/5

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the glenorleigh and wished we could have stayed longer. My husband and i had a premier room with a 4 poster bed and the room was lovely, our seventeen year old daughter had her own en-suite double and we only paid for a single room for her, so we were more than happy with that. The lounge and bar area and dining area were also really nice , as was the heated pool. The breakfasts were truly excellent with a fruit salad and a full english. The hotel itself was located perhaps just a little further away from the harbour area than we had anticipated ,but it helped to walk off that lovely breakfast and walking in was all downhill, and taxi back if legs were tired was only a fiver. The whole experience was really good and hard to find fault with. Owners were very friendly , hotel was very good value for money. Would certainly stay there again.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Gaynor Paterson | Sat 30th Jul 2016


Really lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly owners who went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and fun. Accommodation is at a high standard and super clean. Breakfast is prompt and delicious. Happy to recommend.

Response

Thank you Lynsay, it was a pleasure to have you here and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Lynsay Anderson | Fri 29th Jul 2016


one of the best - Rating 5/5

I have stayed in torquay a lot over the years and i must say that glenorleigh has been the most welcoming comfortable hotels i have had the pleasure to stay in very well equiped really clean close enough to the town to walk but far enough away to get a quiet nights sleep i would highly recomend this quality hotel to anyone i cant fault it in anyway

Response

Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you had a nice time with us at The Glenorleigh.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Gerald Webster | Mon 25th Jul 2016


Two days in Torqyay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay. John and Kelly are the nicest! The children liked the pool!

Response

Hi Marie, we loved seeing the childen enjoy the pool and we are so glad you had a nice time. Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Marie Berntsson | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Excellent holiday.Kelly and John were perfect hosts always willing to help &very kind. We will definitely be coming back again. We would recommend The Glenorleigh as it is great hotel.

Response

Please do as we miss you bothKindest regardsKelly and John

Reviewer:Bridget Doyle | Sun 17th Jul 2016


The Perfect Weekend Stayin Torquay - Rating 5/5

I can not Fault the wonderful service John and Kelly provided for my stay, the rooms was immaculate, the food was terrific, only a short walk from the sea front, and there hospitality was very warming and friendly, couldn\'t do enough for me, i shall be definitely returning for many times to come in this wonderful 5 star accommodation, thank you John and Kelly!

Response

It was our pleasure Trystan and we hope to see you for next years half marathon if not before. Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Trystan Warrington | Thu 30th Jun 2016


My stay - Rating 4/5

John and Kelly were just so welcoming and friendly, just like old friends. Room was very clean and tidy. I would stay there again with no issues.

Reviewer:Robert Sale | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Fab Stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel was excellent to stay at. Kelly and John were superb hosts and the food was fresh and moorish !Couldn\'t really fault the place, I was well looked after. Looking forward to the next time, as I visit Torquay frequently. Ta for a fab stay.

Reviewer:Andy Green | Sun 26th Jun 2016


amazing people and hotel - Rating 5/5

Booked last minute so didn\'t expect anything special. Boy was I wrong. Stunning location not far to the beach and town centre. That aside Kelly and John were the best hosts, not only making everyone feel welcome but truly part of their family. There is nothing that is too much trouble and they often pre empt what you need. I have never returned to any hotel but I did this one the next weekend. I can\'t wait to go back again absolutely amazing.

Reviewer:Susan Davies | Sat 25th Jun 2016


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

Just a one night stay but enough to be impressed with the warm and friendly welcome and pristine accommodation. Very good value. Definitely encouraged me to visit again for family holiday.

Reviewer:Alan Roberts | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Fantastic Time - Rating 5/5

Can not put into words the wonderful time i had at the glenorleigh. The owners are such lovely people and nothing was to much troubleFantastic time will be back there as soon a i am able.

Reviewer:Terry Reeves | Sat 18th Jun 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A clean, nice place with lovely hosts

Reviewer:Jan Svensson | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Our second visit in two months - Rating 5/5

Just had to come back, couldn\'t be made more welcome.Kelly and John, lovely people, had a great time there.Will be back again when we can, nowhere better.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elsie Dowling | Wed 15th Jun 2016


FABULOUS! - Rating 5/5

Found this gem by accident and it will now be my bae whenever I\'m in Torquay. Kelly and John are excellent hosts with a very friendly but still professional touch. Breakfast superb and pool and garden just wonderful.

Reviewer:Liz Cullen | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Wonderful stay and hospitality - Rating 5/5

We loved the breakfast on the terrace, and the staff went out of their way to have the pool perfect and stay most enjoyable. We\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Alistair Levie | Tue 31st May 2016


Outstanding.- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 3 night stay. Very warm and cordial welcome from the owners. Very clean and comfortable room and bed. An all you can eat beautifully freshly cooked breakfast in a dining room overlooking the inviting heated pool. A nice relaxing bar stocked with draught and local beers. Nothing was to much trouble for Kelly or John. I wish I could have stayed longer. If you stay, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewer:David Baker | Wed 25th May 2016


Glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

When we got there the welcome we received was lovely with a pot of tea and biscuits which was very welcome We really enjoyed our stay it was very clean the food was lovely the owners were really friendly and helpfully we will defiantly be staying again it\'s a favourite

Reviewer:Jean Maund | Wed 25th May 2016


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Kelly the landlady was very helpful, and her husband very friendly. The front door bell wasn\'t working when I arrived, so had to phone.The room was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, choice of cereal and fruit to start and I had a lovely full English to finish.If I travel this way again I will definitely book again.

Reviewer:John Smutek | Wed 25th May 2016


The perfect place for us! - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming place. Delightful hosts and a wonderful place to relax and chill out. Clean bright room and a lovely breakfast. Good luck to Kelly and John in their new venture.We\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Suckling | Fri 20th May 2016


The best guest house in Torquay in my opinion. - Rating 5/5

Kelly and John, wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble.Lovely breakfasts, comfortable room, quiet area, though not too far to walk to the nearest pubs and other restaurants.I am looking forward to my next visit already.

Reviewer:Elsie Dowling | Fri 13th May 2016


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Lovely room,food and welcome.

Reviewer:Jane Sherwin | Tue 10th May 2016


Excellent value - Rating 4/5

We only spent one night but Kelly and John made us feel very welcome. Our single rooms were clean and comfortable night. Breakfast was very nice (the fresh fruit salad was particularly nice). We didn\'t use the pool, but it did look nice and I imagine is very refreshing on warm summer days. I have no reservations about recommending The Glenorleigh.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jacquie Nadin | Tue 10th May 2016


an excellent stay - Rating 5/5

An amazing stay. Catching a morning train, we arrived earlier than our check-in time, yet our room was already prepared. A quiet stay, followed by a great breakfast served at out table the next morning. Since there was no follow up booking for the room we were allowed to extend our check out time. A friendly and relaxed atmosphere indeed!

Reviewer:Elina Akalestou | Tue 3rd May 2016


Fantastic place - Rating 5/5

Nicest place we have had the pleasure of staying in. Lovely owners with a great personal touch. Amazing breakfast. Will return again very soon.

Reviewer:Andrew Parfitt | Tue 3rd May 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm reception from the owners. Couldnt be more helpful. 100% will stay again 10/10 breakfast too

Reviewer:Sam Montgomery | Tue 3rd May 2016


Brilliant night stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, Kelly made us a cuppa. The room was fantastic very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was fit for a King , fresh fruit salad, yogurt and full English or what ever you fancied, scrambled eggs were amazing ;) Nothing was to much for them. We will be staying here again. Thank you Kelly and John....

Reviewer:Dion Jones | Mon 2nd May 2016


super - Rating 5/5

Had a great time,friendly and welcoming people, excellent food/rooms,will definitely go there again

Response

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Etchells | Wed 27th Apr 2016


Very friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomodation. Excellent hosts. As they have written on wall \"you arrive as a guest but leave as a friend\"No negatives at all

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you agin sometime. ThanksKind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Helen Stallard | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Nice Break - Rating 5/5

Very nice location, very pleasant landlord and land lady!

Response

Thank you for your reveiw. Glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Joseph Hawkings | Mon 4th Apr 2016


Short stay at short notice. - Rating 5/5

We booked 2 rooms at short notice and were delighted with the lovely accommodation at the Glenorleigh.Friendly, helpful people, scrummy breakfast and just 5 mins walk to a range of places to have evening meals;what else could you ask!

Reviewer:Dr. James Scott | Mon 4th Apr 2016


Fantastic place to stay - Fantastic new owners - Rating 5/5

I stay in lots of places overnight for work.Nice rooms, nothing too much trouble for John and Kelly the owners - If you wish to stay in a family run hotel, be like home from home, this is the place for you, plus a fabulous full English breakfast with lovely views.

Reviewer:Dave Nickless | Fri 1st Apr 2016


Easter weekend- Rating 5/5

Thank you both for a lovely time the room was just perfect lovely couple hope to see you soon Marc and louise

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to do this review.Kind regardsKelly and John

Reviewer:Mr. marc burton | Mon 28th Mar 2016